Breaking Up With Your Shampoo

Last year was the best year my hair ever had. It was the year that I finally started taking it seriously and stopped ignoring it and hopping that it would figure itself out. Part of taking it seriously involved embarking on a 3 month healthy hair journey that at the beginning drove me to my wits end and led to the development of what is affectionately known in the black healthy hair community as ‘hand and hair disease’. A condition characterised by the process of constantly pulling at your locks, length checking, and snipping at the occasional split end or fairy knot. This condition was also accompanied by many others, which includ obsessing over other naturals curls, watching hair vblogs until all my monthly download credit run out and trying every product recommended for natural curly hair, and finally thinking that I knew my s**t…

View original post 969 more words

Leave a Reply

