Happy New Year and Keeping Your New Years Resolutions

So you’ve made it through another year. We all have. I’m tempted. Just like many of you to grab my notebook and pencil down a list of New Year’s Resolutions. I haven’t done it for a many years. I don’t want to find myself disappointment when I look back at the list two months from now and find myself completely off track and nowhere near achieving my goals.

Can’t remember ever sticking to any of my new year’s resolutions, yet for some strange reason I’m feeling particularly optimistic about this new year and feel that if I make any new years resolution, I just might be able to keep them.

The New Year represents an opportunity to start over. A baptism. An opportunity for redemption. While we count down the seconds to the remaining year, getting closer and closer to the new year, part of us also sees ourselves getting closer and closer to the new us.  What do we do with the old us? Is it possible to be reborn and re -brand when the clock strikes twelve?

The past is hard to discard but it’s a lot easier to fool ourselves into believing that we can change ourselves and change our lives during the countdown to the new year while holding an alcoholic beverage in one hand and crackers in the other. It’s a euphoric moment, alcohol, loud music, and a festive atmosphere. In this moment anything is possible!

Some of the most popular new years resolution include getting fit, losing weight, change of employment, giving up smoking/drinking, better financial management, getting organised, and finding love.

Most of our new years resolutions last no longer than the countdown. Many of us fail before we’ve even begun. Like children whose mouths are bigger than their stomachs, we bite off more than we can chew. But lets face it, has anyone ever made a promise or a decision on champagne or red wine and stuck to it?

According to experts most of us are deemed to fail and they place this lack of achievement on our lack f commitment, over commitment and over enthusiasm. The fact is most of us don’t have the know how or the expertise to achieve our goals. And rather than seek professional help to get fit or lose weight or manage our debts, we hope that our enthusiasm will somehow carry us through.

I have over six things on my new years resolution all of which I consider critical. It’s hardly practical that I can expect to achieve all of them even if I’ve got a whole year. And like everyone else, I haven’t done my homework and not exactly sure how I intend to achieve them. And like psychologist suggest, mine are just as ambiguous as the next person, broad and very vague.

My new years resolutions list

  • Taking better care of myself (another phrase for ‘I can’t believe I let myself go last year and need to get my groove back’)
  • Walking more – (again, I can’t believe I let myself go….get the picture
  • Making money – (this is called getting a job that pays….need I say more)
  • Making skin care and hair products at home
  • Being more organised
  • Be more disciplined with my work

To turn your New Years Resolutions into achievable and successful goals, here are a few tips

Be realistic, plan and research, be specific, take accountability for both failure and success, review your progress, and seek professional help where professional help is required. With some plans, you may not be able to do it alone.

The US government has also provided some information on their website to help you achieve your new years resolution.

http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/New-Years-Resolutions.shtml

According to above website, the most popular new years resolution are as follows:

  • Drink less alcohol
  • Eat Healthy Food
  • Get a Better Education
  • Get a Better Job
  • Get Fit
  • Lose Weight
  • Manage Debt
  • Manage Stress
  • Quit Smoking
  • Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle
  • Save Money
  • Take a Trip
  • Volunteer to Help Others

And the final words…

‘We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit’. – Aristotle

Happy New Year!

1 Comment »

  1. Enjoyed reading your article on Race & Fashion -The Last Frontier. Quiet thought provoking and informative. Great work.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

