The Fishtail – Trend



It appeared in the NYC Spring/Summer 2012 collection of Zac Posen and Yves Saint Laurent and many other designers and it’s tipped to appear in a store near you or online on Asos already as part of their Autumn/Winter trend. There’s a skirt sitting in my ‘?’ pile of clothes that I don’t know what to do with. It’s red and velvet and fishtail or mermaid if you like. I haven’t warn it in years. Not exactly sure if I ever will.

The Fishtail or Mermaid as this style is affectionately known is not for the faint hearted and can be your undoing if you are one of those lucky enough to have to drag your booty after you’ve left the room and fortunately I’m one of them. That beautiful red scarlet skirt has a question mark on its future in my wardrobe because I haven’t quite decided if I’m too hippy to wear this trend or not. Sometimes it appears that I’m and other times a little bit of exercise tones and will fool even myself and I almost feel like I can do it. It’s not so much the booty that’s the issue with this style. It’s a combination of booty and luscious thighs that women like myself, pear shapes and Beyonce have in common.


For whatever damned reason, a usually fashion sensible Beyonce is the worst offender of wearing this style when many wish she would reconsider. When I was looking for an example online of ‘what body type’ should not wear this style, a lot other internet Fashionistas more than agreed with me. It makes her look bigger than she really is and it’s such a shame because she can do so much better and yes she should know better.

My tips for the Fishtail/Mermaid trend

If you’re Beyonce, or your body looks anything like hers or pear shaped or an out of shape hourglass or any apples carrying a little too much weight around the middle (and it doesn’t matter how toned you think you are and perhaps I’ve just made my decision about what to do with my skirt), stay away. This style is unforgiving!

Body types suited, Tyrah Banks without the weight gain, Halle Berry, Chanel Iman and Zoe Saldana. I’m not picking on anyone, the’re some styles that some people shouldn’t wear and that includes myself.


Leave a Reply

