The Black Woman in Popular Culture – Discussion

Hi Ladies, I’m currently working on an article about the black women in popular culture. I’ve decided to write this in a parts. I’m thinking by the amount of content that I’ve got so far there maybe two or three parts. I’m posting this right now to invite an active discussion. Please feel free to post comments on what you think of the image of the ‘black woman’ in our modern society.

All comments welcome. I’ll post the first part on Thursday.

Some of the topics I’ll be discussing:

Mammy Caricature

The sexualization of black women

The Vixen

The Video Honey (music and the black woman)

Black Female Sex Symbols

Positive female role models for black young women

The Crazy Black Woman

 

Please post a comment discussing any of those titles or else all you are going to get is my opinion!

Leave a Reply

