Protecting Your Dark Skin From Sun.

Should You Be Using Sun Screen?

It’s been a while since I’ve had a Caucasian person ask me whether or not I get sunburned. As dumb as this question may seem, how many black people ever think of sunburn and most importantly skin cancer?

I mean occasionally when buying a new moisturizer I always wonder whether I should consider making sure that the moisturizer has an SPF rating of 30+ or that it offers any sun protection at all. But I must admit, I’m not as vigilant about caring for my skin in the sun as I know I should. One of the reasons I’ve neglected to wear sunscreen is not only because I’m lazy but the sunscreens are formulated for Caucasian skin and I’ve only been able to find two brands on the Australian market that don’t live your skin looking ashy. I’ve even bought sunscreens before which I’ve previously recommended on this blog which don’t have zinc

There are many misconceptions about dark skin but the most dangerous one is the one about skin burning and skin cancer. Dark skin burns. I know I only have to be in the sun for less than 30 minutes before my skin darkens. Anymore than an hour in direct sunlight and there’s that tight pulling feeling. There’s nothing worse.

My grandfather passed away this year from skin cancer. He suffered a burn to his leg which then led him to develop skin cancer. I don’t think that he had ever heard of skin cancer before got his diagnosis. The burn made him more vulnerable to contracting skin cancer and unfortunately the cancer was aggressive, spread to other parts of the body and resulted in death.  For many years I thought that having dark skin was my one protection against this disease and it’s because of this belief that having dark skin almost guaranties you a pass from skin cancer that skin cancer is not often detected in people with dark skin until it’s too late.

The incidence of skin cancer is less in dark skin and it’s reported that the most effected areas when dark skin does get skin cancer appears on the lighter parts of the body like the palms of the hand and the soles of the feet. The best prevention for skin cancer is protecting yourself against the sun’s harmful rays.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

